My Fresh Hell
Life in Scribbletown.

The Sandwich To Die For

2005-06-22
Many thanks to everyone for the birthday notes. I feel so loved!! And I suppose all the gifts are on their way, right? Damn post office � can�t trust anything anymore, huh?

Well, this morning I created the ultimate decadent sandwich. Are you ready for this?

Okay. Take two slices of pumpernickel bread. Go ahead, I�ll wait. I don�t have anything better to do. Ready? On one slice, spread some peanut butter. I recommend chunky natural peanut butter, not that trashy Jif or Peter Pan crap. Too much sugar for this. Trust me, you won�t miss it. Then, slice some very ripe strawberries and place on the peanut butter. THEN! On the second slice, spread some leftover chocolate cake icing that just happens to be in the refrigerator. Slap the slices together and eat.

My, that really hit the spot! Really, I can�t tell you how much that sandwich rules. I could eat one every day.

_______________________________________

Since I can�t get my Reading page to update (anybody got any ideas? Diaryland won�t respond to my query and I know the html is correct), here�s what I�ve read lately:

18. The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson
19. Travels with My Donkey: One Man and His Ass on a Pilgrimage to Santiago by Tim Moore
20. The Time Traveler's Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
21. Land Girls by Angela Huth

Currently Reading:
A Short History of Las Vegas by Barbara and Myrick Land and
Jon Stewart's America

_______________________________________

I want to give a big thank you to Red, my darling blonde daughter, for only waking up ONE TIME during the past two nights. I feel like a fully rested person now. Man, I sure like sleep.

_______________________________________

The biggest thing going on in my world is a fight to save Dusty�s preschool. Last week the church that owns the preschool suddenly announced they were closing it at the end of August because they suck. It�s believed that they want to cash in on the increased assessment of the house the school is in. Basically, they�ve fed everyone the line that despite all their (non)work to boost enrollment (by what, spreading the rumor that you�re closing?), and rising costs (and have let things slide like defer important maintenance, not give raises to the teachers, and not hire a new director after forcing the previous one to �retire�), they are just so sorry but they can�t afford to keep the place afloat any more.

Um, I don�t think so. Looking at WHO the vestry members are, I discovered that one works overseeing 3 private foundations for a bank, the other was a grants administrator at Ye Olde Alma Mater, and the others are loaded attorneys and other First Families of Virginia who, if money was an issue, could easily bankroll the place and create a substantial endowment in about 3 minutes. Never mind that the school actually turns a small profit and is a non-profit to begin with. There are 40 available slots with 35 filled currently. This does not strike me as �low enrollment� and they�d be at capacity if they were getting the message out that they AREN�T closing.

So, parents are doing battle and if you wish to follow the saga, you are more than welcome to go here. The media has been contacted and stories should appear in the local papers shortly.

Oh, and apparently (my husband attended the emergency parents� meeting last night) a childcare center down the street wants to buy the preschool � so the vestry�s claim that they�ve tried to find a partner or someone to take it over and have failed is pure bullshit.

I�m just a little pissed off. Can you tell? Dusty knows nothing of this and I�m hoping that some solution will be found soon so she never has to know. If she has to go somewhere else, she�ll be devastated. She�s made such good friends and has really become quite a confident, independent social bee, it would be awful if she had to spend her final preschool year somewhere else. Nevermind that we�d hoped Red would attend as well.

Awright � time to get back to work. Later y�all!

|

11:46 a.m. ::
prev :: next