My Fresh Hell
Life in Scribbletown.

En Vacance!

2005-12-18
I am on vacation until Jan 2nd so I present you with....something better than a re-run but less exciting than a real entry. I give you:

The Year I Graduated From High School
Stolen from %%nimiiwin%%

1. What year was it?
1984

2. What were your three favorite bands?
David Bowie (which isn't a band but that's tough because he ruled my world), The Clash and shit, I don't who else. Prince, maybe. The Stray Cats. Dead Kennedys. Definitely Iggy Pop and Violent Femmes. That kind of thing.

3. What was your favorite outfit?
Black straight legged jeans with spandex, short (just above the ankle) red leather boots, Iggy Pop t-shirt designed by a friend, gray fedora a la Thin White Duke. I wore this hat the night I lost my virginity to some Canadian boy during the Senior Class trip to NYC � I was a junior.

4. What was up with your hair?
It was short, bobbed, jaw length. My hair is straight, thin and fine. That's all it does and for once, it was in style.

5. Who were your best friends?
Timmi, both Melissas (one in VT and the other in MI), Midori. That might have been it. I ran in small, tight circles. I'm one of those one-on-one introverts. I don't do so well in crowds.

6. What did you do after school?
Hang out at my friends' houses watching cable, eating snacks, and plotting our evening entertainment: how to get in a club with a fake ID, how to get free backstage passes to whatever band was playing in town, how to make it to the club that OPENED at midnight. Talk about those loser punk guys we made out with the last time we were there. Call a kid named George on the phone and pretend to be Rolling Stone girlfriends (I was Astrid and my friend was Anita Pallenburg (sp?), I think).

7. Did you take the bus?
Yes. My friend had a car but I did not. My high school was downtown and we rode city buses to our classes, which were held all over town. I went to an alternative high school. You could take bee keeping for science and/or P.E. credit.

8. Who did you have a crush on?
A bunch of guys, including a guy named Noel. But, I was dating an asshole back then so I wasn't really in the market.

9. Did you fight with your parents?
With my mother, yes, daily.

10. Who did you have a CELEBRITY crush on?
David Bowie. I seriously wanted his child. Damn you, Iman!!

11. Did you smoke cigarettes?
Yes. I never said I was smart then. I eventually quit.

12. Did you lug all of your books around in your backpack all day because you were too nervous to find your locker?
Locker? There was no locker. I carried whatever I needed for that day's classes.

13. Did you have a 'clique'?
Sorta, if a clique of two counts. I was the dork who was kinda friends with a lot of people but never a part of them, if you know what I mean. I was friendly with lots of different people but never a 100% blood-member of their cliques.

14. Did you have "The Max" like Zach Kelly and Slater?
What? Who?

15. Admit it, were you popular?
No, not really. But I also wasn't unpopular. I was generally happy in high school (I didn�t hit total depression until college) and didn�t have many enemies that I can remember. I was a bit of a chameleon. I felt a part of things and outside them at the same time.

16. Who did you want to be just like?
A cool amalgamation of my best friend and a few other girls from other cliques. I wanted to be cool and pretty and know how to apply makeup correctly. I wanted real breasts. I wanted to be noticed by the guys I thought were cute.

17. What did you want to be when you grew up?
A writer.

18. Where did you think you'd be at the age you are now?
I don't remember what I hoped I'd be at this point. Not dead, not stupid, not unhappy. Which is the case.

***************************************

Y'all have a great whatever holiday you celebrate (or don't). Eat as much as you damn well please and keep the family fights to a minimum (or, if that's not possible, write an amusing entry about it; I'm sure I will!) I'll be back at some point. Probably with another lousy meme.

|

7:28 p.m. ::
prev :: next