My Fresh Hell
Life in Scribbletown.

Dreamin' Is Free

2006-03-03

On my way into work this morning, I was behind a car that had a bumper sticker on the back windshield. I don't know if it was the angle of the sticker, the way the sun was glinting off the glass and into my face or my general bad eyesight, but for a moment I swear the bumper sticker read: Rectal Itch.

Fortunately, at a stoplight, I was able to see that the sticker really said Beta Tech, whatever the hell that is. But, it's certainly better than someone driving around with a sticker that says Rectal Itch on it. I mean, talk about too much information...

As predicted, Dusty lost her second bottom tooth on Wednesday. The tooth fairy brought "four pieces of money!" (ie, 65 cents) and random pieces of (leftover Valentine's Day) candy. Gee, funny how her gifts are comprised of things lying around the house. Oops, don't tell! Instead of sadness this time, Dusty was quite chipper when I picked her up from school. She is Big Girl on Campus these days � the oldest and wisest (by her own assessment) in her preschool class � and the first to lose teeth so she's got high street creds these days, or whatever the hell I'm trying to say. And, yes, I'm sure 65 cents is not the going rate for a tooth but Dusty doesn't know the value of money from shinnola and has no one to compare herself to (god, how refreshing � I'm going to miss this when it's gone!) so she was very pleased. The first tooth brought 50 cents. And, like I said before, we just don't have cash lying around these days so I had to scrounge through the toll money jar. I think, though, it'll be awhile before the next tooth goes so maybe I can stock up on quarters before then.

Yesterday was so nice (I think it got up to 70 degrees) that we ate dinner outside under the apple tree. We strapped Red into her booster seat and enjoyed the weather, the setting sun, the sound of spring peepers singing in the swamp behind us. Dusty, though, wasn't hungry yet and had quite a bit of extra energy to work off so she spent dinner time showing us how fast she could run. Red was offered many opportunities to get out and run around but she refused to let us take the tray away, preferring to sit and slowly gnaw on her squares of leftover pizza while her sister ran from car to fence to bush to tree to weird hens-and-chicken planter made from an old tire (I did mention we live in the country?) to back deck to front porch and back to our blanket under the tree. Then, finally, she had an organic waffle with peanut butter. Later, apple slices with cheese.

I also bought 2 CDs yesterday at lunch. I have decided that one way to conquer this getting-old depression is to finally give up caring whether my tastes "measure up" to any degree of coolness � real or imagined. Frankly, I just don't care any more if I'm hopelessly out of it in terms of what I like to wear and what I like to listen to. With that said, I bought "best of" CDs (which just proves how hopelessly lame I am) of both Blondie and Lou Reed. Because I like them and remember the songs when they were fresh and new and cutting edge. I remember where I was (middle school - *shudder*) in 1978 and 1979.

I was quite astonished, though, when "Dreamin'" came on because it sounded a lot like, like, well...ABBA! I know! I was shocked too, but the chorus, the singers in the background had that same ABBA feel to them. Smed, perhaps you'll give me your take on my assessment? Really, I was blown away. Which is not to denigrate Blondie in the least. I like ABBA, too. And, I don't care what you think.

Well, time to go be a productive worker! I'll leave you with another patented Dusty Quote:

"Can you have three jobs? Because I want to be a worker [builder], a book illustrator [yes, she actually used that phrase], and a clothes maker. One week I'll build, the next week I'll make books, the next week after that I'll make clothes, and then the next week I'll take a vacation. Build, books, clothes, build, books, clothes. Like that."

|

9:26 a.m. ::
prev :: next