My Fresh Hell
Life in Scribbletown.

Spicy Roses

2006-07-14

Dusty wrote a song last night. Before she sang it she told me I was not allowed to laugh or smile or even look at her.

�You can�t do anything.�

I asked her for a piece of paper and something to write with. �Why?� �So I can write down the words to your song. So we�ll remember it.�

She was pleased and it gave me something to focus on so I wouldn�t smile while she sang. She has strung a large rubber band from one dresser knob to another below it to make a guitar so she could strum along to the song. She�s desperate for a guitar of her own.

Here is her song:

The Stars, The Moon, and The Sun is Up

There was a lamb
Who wanted my roses
But they were too spicy.

Then there was a duck
Who came to eat the petals
Of my favorite flowers �
Petunias!


Now, when I heard �lamb� and �roses� I immediately thought of "The Little Prince," something I�d tried to read to her awhile ago but, apart from the illustrations (particularly of the snake that swallowed an elephant), she wasn�t interested. Maybe I can try again soon.

She then told me she was going to sing another song entitled, �Henry, Henry, Where�s the Stars?� but she got sidetracked by her Mars brain and decided to read "Captain Underpants" to me instead. I'm sure there's a connection there somewhere.

**************

Her preschool/daycare, in the summer, is all about swimming and field trips. This month alone she goes to: the Children�s Museum, the devil�s workshop � The Cheese, a park, and the movie theatre. Not to mention a puppet show and pajama/movie day (which I hate because why would you waste a perfectly good summer day inside with the tv on when you could be doing...oh, I don�t know...ANYTHING else?).

Yesterday was the children�s museum trip and I was bombarded with pleas to take her back THIS WEEKEND or NEXT WEEKEND or RIGHTTHISVERYMINUTE because apparently she had a terrific time and cannot bear to be away from the place. I am happy she had a good time but this weekend is reading to dogs and groceries on Saturday, and lunch with my mother (groan) on Sunday.

At least at my mom�s she can bring her bike and ride on the sidewalks. Plus, a girl from Beloved Preschool lives three houses down and even though the girl�s house contains two or three large and completely out of control greyhounds, there is the possibility of getting to play with Emma. So, there�s that. But the Dusty, she is never satisfied for long!

******************

Dusty Quote of the Day:

[Preface: Conversation takes place in the car on the way to preschool. She�s finally remembered to keep a Barbie in the car to play with. Miss B is suddenly tied up to the arm of Dusty�s booster seat by (her own petard) the sash of her skirt.]

�A bad guy tied her up!�
�Really!?�
�Yeah, but the prince is coming.� (insert internal groan here)
�Okay.�
�He�ll be here later this afternoon.� (typical!)
�I hope she can wait that long.�
�She tricked the bad guy, though. She turned the wooden chair into a refrigerator so she can open the door and eat whenever she wants.�

???

|

1:13 p.m. ::
prev :: next