My Fresh Hell
Life in Scribbletown.

Black Armband Entry

2006-08-23

I wasn�t going to write about this anymore but I find I can�t help it. I have to get this out of the way so I can move on.

The verdict is in: guilty. The sentence: death.

My response: No fucking Duh. Fry his ass today.

While I consider myself fairly liberal in my political leanings, one thing I believe in is the death penalty in certain circumstances. The man who killed Ruby and her family deserves nothing less.

A man who randomly picks a house to rob based on the fact that the door is open; a man who binds and gags a mother, a father, and two children; a man who stabs them, slits their throats, and bludgeons them to death; deserves death. A man who douses the bodies in wine and sets them on fire deserves death.

A man who forces parents to witness the murder of their children, a man who forces children to witness the murder of their parents deserves death. A man who kills and then steals nothing more than a laptop, a wedding ring, and a basket of homemade cookies deserves death.

Nothing more will do.

I walk through my house at night, front and back door wide open, windows up to let in a breeze and the evening serenade of cicadas and crickets and frogs, my children in their beds, and I wonder, �Could it happen to me? What�s to stop someone from pulling into my driveway, on a whim, because I happen to be home, and do away with me and my husband and my children?�

Nothing.

Nothing excuses something like this.

Nothing.
.
.
.
I�ll try to find something more pleasant to talk about later.

|

9:46 a.m. ::
prev :: next