My Fresh Hell
Life in Scribbletown.

I'm Sorry. What Were You Saying?

2006-11-22

Well, here I am. At work. It�s pouring outside and as dark as if it were time to go home. But no! It is only 9:30am. Lucky me!

I am here at Crazy College, the employer who recently sent me a letter saying, �Congratulations, we�ve upped your salary by $234 for the year.� Hurray for me. How will I spend it? This is also the place that sent an e-mail to all staff yesterday saying, �I�m happy to tell you the college will be closing on Wednesday at 4:00pm! Happy Thanksgiving!� A whole hour early! What will I do with myself? Maybe in that hour I can spend my $234 raise!

I do have to go to Hell-Mart today. Dusty wants underwear for her birthday (swear to god!) and...wow. Yeah, Dusty will be six on Monday. That�s hard to believe. How did that happen, exactly? I have to get cupcakes for her class so they can celebrate.

So tired. So sleepy. Maybe I�ll just curl up under my desk and take a nap until the afternoon and then take a super-extended lunch break that lasts until I can go home. I really would take a nap if I didn�t think silverfish would crawl across my face. Not willing to take that risk.

I was going to write about holiday preparations at Scribbletown (they are stringing lights as we speak) but I lack the energy. Maybe later this week I�ll get to it. Or not.

If you�re still out there, try to have a decent holiday surrounded by your family (whether you want to be or not). Eat a piece of pie! Drink a beer! Have a glass of wine! Watch some mindless television! I know I will.

Cheers.

|

9:41 a.m. ::
prev :: next