My Fresh Hell
Life in Scribbletown.

A Friday Meme

2005-04-15
A meme, courtesy of Beth who passed the stick...

You're stuck inside Fahrenheit 451. Which book do you want to be (referring to the scene at the end where people outside the city memorized the books so that they wouldn't be forgotten)?

I�ll have to admit that I failed to read F451 in school (head hanging in shame) so the reference escapes me. But, I guess if there was one book I could be it would be �The Joy of Cooking,� so people would remember the basics of cooking stuff. And that everything can be cooked on/in a stove/oven. You really don�t need that damned microwave machine. I refer to JOC often, esp the measurements section.

Have you ever had a crush on a fictional character?

I�ve had a crush on a book � �Possession� by A.S. Byatt almost undid me. I also love �The Phantom Tollbooth� by Norman Juster.

The Last Book You Bought Was

�Hansel & Gretel� by James Marshall and �A Tree is Nice� by Janice May Udry & Marc Simont. For yet another preschooler birthday party.

What book are you currently reading?

�Banvard�s Folly� by Paul Collins. Thirteen stories about people in history who created hoaxes and got away with them, for a time, or inventors who almost made it, or just wackos. Infinitely fascinating. Check out my Reading link for what I've read this year.

Five books you would take with you to a deserted island.

1. Set of encyclopedias (which I count as one book) from 100 years ago. I�ve got plenty of time and it would be interesting to see what was considered fact back then and what �great names� have since been forgotten.

2. Something akin to �SAS Survival Handbook: How to Survive in the Wild, in Any Climate, on Land or at Sea� by John 'Lofty' Wiseman. For obvious reasons.

3. The Collected Works of Flannery O�Connor (a one-volume set). She rules and Southern people really are this scary.

4. The large format book I have of Little Nemo comics (a turn of the other century mind-blowing comic by Winsor McKay. The man was simply a genius.

5. My own novel which lives in a laptop (does that count? Too bad if it doesn�t). Now I�ll really have time to write without constant interruptions. It might not even suck!

Whom are you going to pass this stick to?

To Adrien, another bibliophile, and Gem-Chan, a real-life �librarier� (to use Dusty�s term).

|

12:47 p.m. ::
prev :: next