My Fresh Hell
Life in Scribbletown.

Dusty's Got The Beat

2006-05-23
Just when I didn�t think it was possible for Dusty to rule any more than she already does, she comes up with this:

�Do you think I could be a singer when I grow up?�
�Sure. You have to have some talent. Not everyone can do it.�
�Well, maybe I�ll have a girl band. All girls.�
�Yeah, that�d be cool.�
�And I�ll play my harmonica. And sing.�
�Excellent idea.�
�But how can I do both?�
�Well, Bob Dylan can. He sings, then he plays, then he sings. He takes turns.�
�Yeah, I�ll do that. And daddy can play keyboard.�
�I�m sure he�d love to be in your girl band.�

Another thing she�s really into these days is pranks and silly practical jokes and magic. I just ordered, for her birthday, the following �pranks�: bug in an ice cube, chattering teeth, glasses with eyeballs that hang down on a spring, hand buzzer, snake in a can of peanuts, whoopee cushion, squirting flower, and Groucho glasses.

It�s gonna be an interesting fall, I can tell.

Dusty is also totally in love with Laura Ingalls Wilder. She is completely riveted by these books, especially since Carrie is about Red�s age and does the same silly-baby things that Red does. We found these books at just the right time. In the Banks of Plum Creek, they live in a dugout � a house built into a hill � that, since this version of the book has no pictures, I�ve described as being like the Teletubbies� house. From the outside, it looks like a little grassy hill. But, the inside of Laura�s house does not have flashing spaceship lights or a Nu-Nu � whatever that vacuum cleaner thing is called (besides a bit frightening).

Dusty's a cool kid. I'll let you know when she starts band try-outs. Just in case you wanna be famous.

|

4:17 p.m. ::
prev :: next