My Fresh Hell
Life in Scribbletown.

Hot Enough To Fry Your Dog's Brain

2006-08-01

Oops, it�s August. Last month I missed two little Diaryland moments of note: the two year anniversary of this journal and the 200th entry. When I started this thing, my goal was to document my children�s childhood for posterity and to make myself write, if not every day then at least once or twice a week. I have met both goals. Ain't I something?

Tomorrow is another small anniversary. On August 2, 1988, I quit smoking. It�s a disgusting, dangerous habit that had begun out of a social ineptness need on my part to have my hands busy at parties: beer (or, rather, back then I was drinking shit like wine coolers. My god. Please don't think badly of me.) in one hand, and a cigarette in the other. Soon, I was up to a pack a day. Then I met my future husband. We met a friend of his for coffee and she said to him, �It must be love if you�re willing to date a smoker!� Hmmm. I quit cold-turkey the next day. Smoking, even for a few years, has got to be the dumbest thing I ever did.

****************************************

One of the sad things about Dusty starting kindergarten in September is that our time in the car will go from 10 trips a week down to 3. Dusty and I have all our best conversations during our trips to and from preschool and I will miss them. On the days I�ll pick her up from the after-school program, Red will be with us which sometimes makes conversations difficult. I�ll miss things like this:

I
Dusty is rummaging around in my black zipper bag of things I keep in my purse, looking for my little folding sewing scissors. She wants to cut out the princess she just drew. Attached to the zipper is a little troll with purple hair.

�Last night my brain went to troll land.�
�Really?�
�Yeah. This troll has a dirty nose.�
�I know. It got smudged in my purse.�
�Did you know that trolls never take baths?�
�No. I guess that one�s happy to be dirty.�
�Yes. What does he do all day?�
�Sometimes he shreds up my Kleenex to make a bed.�
�What�s his favorite song?�
�I don�t know.�
�He told me �Little Red Riding Hood�.� Which just happened to be playing at that very minute. What a coincidence!

II
�You know what? I only have a few tunes in my mouth.�

III
�I�m going to be a race car driver when I grow up.�
�Back to that, huh?�
�Yeah. And when I see cops, you know what I�m gonna do?�
�What?�
�Stick my tongue out at them.�

****************************************

Damn it�s hot. It�s supposed to get up into the hundreds today. Last night, at 10pm, it was 86 degrees. Which is ridiculous. I went out to water the flowers yesterday evening and when I stepped outside, the humidity was so thick, my glasses steamed up. WTF?

Lastly, a big muchos gracias to RS536 for a copy of the new Bonnie Ra1tt CD. I dig it, Dusty digs it, and....it plays on my car�s cd player. Which is nice.

Y�all stay cool.

|

9:25 a.m. ::
prev :: next