My Fresh Hell
Life in Scribbletown.

The Future Looks Bright (and Dirty)

2006-08-07

Today, Dusty�s class went to the zoo. We haven�t been since last year and this morning we tried to remember what we had seen: lions, tigers, giraffes, monkeys � lots of monkeys, gazelles, and penguins. We also discovered a nice shady forest path with forest animals lurking within.

I used the photographs we took of that trip to make a book for Dusty when she was sick last fall. It begun, "One day Dusty and her mom went to the zoo and saw..." and there's a picture on each page of each animal. At the end, there's a picture of Red. "And...babies?" I always like to leave 'em laughing. Red really is a zoo animal - a cross between a chimp and Godzilla. No lie. She does a really good Godzilla impression. I wish I had a video camera.

It was a nice morning so I hope they had a good time. I�m sure I�ll hear all about it when I pick her up this afternoon.

This is her last month in preschool and the last month of the school�s summer program. Other field trips this month include: the art museum, putt putt golf, krispy kreme tour (mmmmm!), bowling, and Skateland. Wish I were going. In addition, there will be something called the Girl Scout Zebra program (?), a puppet show, a magician, the monthly bike day, and a summers-end party on the 31st. Then, there�s a long weekend (and guess who has to work on Labor Day? Yeah, it sucks but whatever) and...Dusty miraculously becomes a kindergartner.

Had to happen eventually.

Last evening, the weather was remarkably wonderful. I don�t know what happened but it was pleasant and not a bit humid. So, we went out and walked around in the yard, something we haven�t done in weeks because it�s just been too nasty to even consider it.

First, Dusty, Red and I wandered barefoot over to the well and sat on the cover, �Eat, eat,� Red said to me, patting the space next to her. What she means is, �Sit, sit� but for some reason it comes out �eat.� So we sat and listened to the rednecks down the road. They were having some kind of outdoor party � or maybe it was just them (they have five children) and a few buddies. The ATVs were fired up and I could hear the buzz of those stupid things back in the trees for a bit. Ah, country life!

After Red went to bed, Dusty and I went out for a stroll.

�You know what I like about summer?� she said.
�What?�
�The bugs.�
�Really?�
�Yeah, they make all kinds of different good sounds.� And we listened to the crickets, the cicadas, the bees, the bad bad Japanese beetles, and a number of things I couldn�t identify. We swung on the swings (Dusty tried to swing so high she could touch the branch of the walnut tree but she didn't manage it; I think mainly because the dead limb had already fallen) and then looked at the wildflowers growing in the patches of tall grass � Queen Anne�s Lace, some wild tiny daisies, something blue, other weedy things.

�You know, next year, Red will be old enough that you all can just play outside together by yourselves.�
�Really?� Dusty said, the possibilities of that astounding her.
�Yes. Red will be old enough to know not to go down the driveway and you all can stay out and dig holes or whatever you want.�
�Cool,� she replied.

It�s nice watching them grow older and more independent even though it�s sad. I won�t mind, though, having a quieter house. One in which I can sit my ass down and read a book without having to get up every five seconds to see who�s putting what in their mouth, who needs to be held rightthisveryminute, who needs ANOTHER cracker, who's suspiciously stinky. I can send them outside and let them fend for themselves. Perhaps I�ll get a little of myself back while they go out and discover who they are. Yeah. That�s the ticket.

|

1:31 p.m. ::
prev :: next