My Fresh Hell
Life in Scribbletown.

Roll Up! Roll Up For The Mystery Mix

2006-08-08

The zoo was a big hit. How could it not be? Dusty saw giraffes (�Did you know they have blue tongues?�), a white lion and a �regular� one, gazelles, wart hogs, penguins, and bats (she was brave enough to go into the dark bat cave this time), and many monkeys. The zoo has a wide variety of monkeys that live in a huge enclosure near the entrance of the park. You can�t miss it.

Dusty said, �Red�s wrong. Monkey�s don�t go �aah aah� they go �ooooh ooooh OOOOH!�� imitating a howler monkey.

�Well, she�s only two.�

�I know. But she�s still wrong.�

*****************************************

Dusty likes to draw. Especially in the car. Not too long ago she wanted to be able to have all her drawing supplies handy and in a place where Red couldn't get them (read: destroy them). So, I found a canvas bag and looped one of the handles over the headrest of the front passenger seat and put her paper, pens, markers, etc., in the bag. Now it�s all in one place and Red can�t reach it. But, it also turns into her storage/trash bag over time. Last evening she couldn�t find a pen for all the drawings crammed in the bag so we emptied it out when we got home so she could start another pile.

Most of these drawings I�d never seen before. I scanned a number of them and put them on flickr for all to view. Some are kind of light because they�re ink pen on thin paper and the photo fixer doesn�t seem to have a darkening setting (or maybe I have to buy the software to get that feature). Either way, you can now see some of Dusty�s road art. What I most love about her stuff is all the happy faces. All her people (and animals) are always smiling and doing happy things. Which makes me happy. Perhaps it�ll make you happy, too.

*****************************************

I received a Mystery Mix CD from bluemeany yesterday. And, man. Damn. Quite the variety of genres here. My husband snatched it out of my hands as soon as I�d opened the package and proceeded to play it. He skimmed through the 22 songs (22!) and declared it �the worst mix ever.� I reminded him that that was not the point. The point was to guess what the songs were. They weren�t compiled to be enjoyed, as a unit, per se. It was a game. Sigh. Musicians. Men. What. Ever!

I don�t remember (since it was probably May when bluemeany extended the offer) how this game works but I�m going to say, the hell with rules. I think it involved something convoluted like I had to post this in her notes AND in my journal. Not. Ganna. Da. It. (SNL G. Bush there)

Here are my answers:

1. Jefferson Starship � Nothing�s Going to Stop Us Now (ew, a dreadful song!)
2. Something country and dreadful
3. Something country � no clue but not as awful as #2
4. Dunno
5. Ditto � familiar but can�t place it
6. ?
7. Some rap-type song � another genre I know nothing about
8. Drawing a blank here
9. Wha?
10. Beatles � Maxwell�s Silver Hammer
11. Queen � Fat Bottomed Girls
12. Joan Jett � Crimson and Clover
13. Another damn country song
14. Another damn rap song
15. Harry Belafonte � Matilda
16. Bob Dylan - ? (I really don�t know the titles of most of his songs)
17. Something that rhymes Talliban with Afghanistan
18. Cat Stevens - ?
19. Some bizarre old song about a shoemaker who falls in love
20. Janis Joplin � Mercedes Benz
21. No idea
22. Sid Vicious � I Did It My Way

And there you have it. Thanks bluemeany! That was fun even though it showed what a musical retard I am. Or perhaps the deck was stacked against me since I hate country music and rap-type music and never listen to any of it. I really wish I knew what #19 was. It sounded like something from about 1962 � one of those collections of white boys in matching outfits pretending (in this song) to be Mexican or Spanish or something un-WHITE but clearly failing because you can take the boy out of Iowa but you can�t take the Iowa out of the boy.

Really, that�s all I�ve got right now.

|

10:48 a.m. ::
prev :: next