My Fresh Hell
Life in Scribbletown.

Mama, Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Assholes

2006-08-24

I�m looking for comfort these days, things that remove me � if only a little bit, for a little while � from reality. Even Dusty�s feeling it: �I�m tired of doing the same old thing, every day.�

Me? I crave routine. I need it. I�m not a very spontaneous person and need my general schedule, my framework, or I kind of freak out a little. Throwing a spanner in my works...doesn�t work for me.

So, while last week I took a day off to work on my novel (and I got a lot done), this week I�ve been resting, in a way. I�ve been reading in the library at lunchtime, instead of writing. I�ve been watching movies (Napoleon Dynamite*) and television.

And wasn�t last night�s Project Runway episode totally awesome? Man � now THAT�S a great idea, bringing in the contestant�s mothers and sisters for models. And, the fact that the designers had to pick someone else�s mom. And poor Angela�s mom got Jeffrey who is such an asshole. I mean it�s one thing to suck around the other designers but to be so disrespectful to someone else�s mother? Good lord, how immature can you be? But, it was fun to watch that train wreck even though I cringed watching Jeffrey�s mom (gee, way to go with parenting that guy!) comfort Angela�s mom. Embarrassing for her, I would imagine. How do you defend a kid who sucks that much? I told my husband that the girls could end up all different ways: radical lesbians, tatooed circus ladies, biker chicks; but I never want them to be assholes to people. I doubt that will happen but you never know.

I�m also looking forward to the return of Survivor in a few weeks. Apparently, this cast will be much more ethnically diverse (finally!) than before and the tribes will be divided by race (oooh, I don�t know�) at first. I just love that show. I just love all these shows that take people out of their known world, their comfort zones, and force them to work with other people � many of whom suck worse than them. I love to sit back and watch the sparks fly. And, what I find really interesting is that fact that they don�t check themselves, knowing they are being filmed, knowing that what they say and what they do will be seen by family, friends, co-workers, etc. And, yet, they can�t keep from just being exaggerated versions of themselves, living under stressful conditions. While I would never, ever make it on Survivor, if I was on the show, I think I�d be eliminated pretty quickly just like past �loners� have been. What was that guy�s name? Frank? The guy who really didn�t talk much, was a super introvert, and wasn�t really interested in making friends with anyone? Nobody liked the fact that he�d go off by himself every morning to walk. And I totally understand that � the need to refuel by being alone for a little bit. And all the extroverts found that behavior threatening. People intrigue me. Especially the ones I don�t like.

I�ve also been thinking about how what I really want is a room of my own, an office, a space that�s just mine. Perhaps if I was a musician like my husband I could demand a physical space like he has? For all my stuff? Why do writers � who really only need a place to put the computer � often get short-shrifted in this way? Why can�t I have a place that�s all mine and nobody else�s? I�m mulling over this. Perhaps I can solve this problem eventually.

Anyway, this is all just wasted babbling more to remove yesterday�s entry than anything else.

Can anyone recommend a good � funny � movie to see? I need escapism.

* Oh, and how weird is this? While I was in the movie rental store (I did mention before that I still do everything old school?), I heard a very familiar voice singing and talking quietly. I looked up at the tv monitors and who should I see? David Bowie. In Labyrinth. Singing, "Dance Magic Dance". Bowie, he follows me everywhere. He's like my talisman.

|

9:43 a.m. ::
prev :: next