My Fresh Hell
Life in Scribbletown.

What Shape Is My Tunnel?

2006-09-20
It�s been kind of a non-day around here. Last night we went to Dusty�s school�s Back to School night to meet the teacher and hear her discuss her plans for the classroom for the year, beg for volunteers, and explain a variety of things including the disciplinary system.

I signed up to be an at-home volunteer which means I�m happy to help with things like cutting out a million of the same shape for her lesson plans or whatever. Anything I can do while watching Project Runway is good with me.

She stressed, ad nauseam, the importance of reading to our children. Which: duh. In October we�ll be getting a reading log to fill out every night to track what we are reading to them, what they�re reading, and for how long. The minimum is 15 minutes a night. Fifteen minutes. Could we dumb it down any more? I mean, I suppose this is good for those parents who do not read to their children but for those of us who�ve been reading for at least 30 minutes at a time to our kids since they were zygotes, this 15 minute thing seemed a little�..I don�t know. Not enough. And, I do understand that any more than that might send certain parents with multiple children into a tizzy of how to fit it all into their day. I�m just saying, maybe this should have already been part of the program to begin with.

On that note, and to celebrate getting a paycheck, I spent my lunch hour at Goodwill where I made out like a bandit in the children�s book department. I found:

Two Junie B. Jones books

Scuffy the Tugboat (little golden book; reissued in 1974)

The Little Red Hen (l.g.b.; reissued in 1982)

Richard Scarry�s Best Little Word Book Ever! (l.g.b.; reissued in 1992)

Where Are Maisy�s Friends? � lift the flap (Red�s favorite kind of book)

French Impressionists � Paintings. This is a little gift book with pages filled with paintings by Monet, Cezanne, Van Gogh, etc. Just the kind of thing Dusty likes. We like to interject a bit of culture when we can.

What Shape? � one of these books about shapes with photos of real babies. Red loves to look at real babies. This one even has the sentence, �What shape is Claudia�s tunnel?� You don�t see my name in many books. But, taken out of context, this sentence could have other � dirtier � connotations. I�ll leave it to you to figure out.

Okay, I need to go visit the massage therapist now so she can fix the pinched nerve and painful pain in my neck, shoulder and wrist. Perhaps I�ll have something more interesting to say tomorrow.

|

2:09 p.m. ::
prev :: next