My Fresh Hell
Life in Scribbletown.

Red's the Screamer

2006-12-22
Here�s how I like to spend a day off:

� Making cookies (with an assortment of cookie cutters including a bat, pumpkin, ghost and Christmas Snoopy) and whole wheat bread (the yeast kind) with Dusty.

� Inventing a bird food with Dusty. Ingredients include peanut butter, rolled oats, wheat germ, sunflower seeds, chopped almonds (ie, whatever�s on hand). To make, mix all ingredients well and form into balls. Or blobs. Or just toss the mess in a cake pan and place outside in a sheltered place. Be sure to lick your hands really good after mixing just to make sure it's edible.

I�ll let you know how the wildlife appreciated our efforts. Dusty�s previously made pinecone rolled in peanut butter and sunflower seeds is missing (she�d hung it on the apple tree with pipe cleaners) so�I have a feeling they�ll like this one, too.

� Discovering that Red has found
religion. And so close to a Major Holiday at that! All the way home from daycare tonight and all through dinner, she continuously yelled, �Oh God! Oh Gaahhhddd!� I can�t imagine where she heard that.

Here�s how I prefer not to spend a day off:

� Finally taking the empty boxes of tree decorations back down to the basement and discovering a dead mouse. On the bottom step. The mouse that had, a week before, been spotted scurrying along the wall of the family/tv room. I�m happy to report that d-con works beautifully.

� Sweeping the dead mouse from bottom basement step (which I�d for a small moment thought I�d stepped on during trip #1 because he looked so flat but, on further inspection, was merely less fat due to a death by poison. Not to mention the fact that clearly his soul had long since left his cute grey little body.) into a plastic Food Monger bag (they DO serve a purpose!) and placing it in the outside trash receptacle.

I will say this. I have very few girly qualities. I can't fix up my hair. I'm horrible at applying makeup. And I do not scream. I have tried to scream. But I cannot do it. When confronted by � SURPRISE! � a dead rodent (I am also not afraid of rodents; I had some as pets as a youth), I merely grunt out a soft �uhh!� and take care of the problem.

Same with snakes. Not particularly afraid of them but don�t really want to suddenly find I�ve inadvertently annoyed one, either. They mind their business, I mind mine.

So, when I saw our poor late little furry ball of pestilence, I just uhh-ed and swept him up. Not pleasant but coulda been worse, you know? I mean, it�s not like I was confronted by a roomful of hungry, pissed off rats. Or spitting cobras. THAT might actually cause me to scream. Maybe.

|

8:04 p.m. ::
prev :: next