My Fresh Hell
Life in Scribbletown.

Mars Brain Attacks

2006-08-22

Here is yesterday�s horoscope:

Let someone see your vulnerable side. Yes, you're astoundingly self-sufficient and competent, but you need something more. Believe it or not, seeing this side of you is just what someone else needs too.

Which, without going into a lot of detail, is pretty well dead-on. Except, I�m never really allowed to be vulnerable. No, people don�t like it when I am not perfect. Guess those people are simply going to deal with it.

Today, I present a back-log of Dusty Quotes for your amusement (so I can throw away all these scraps of paper):

I.
A sullen, moody Dusty tells me, in no uncertain terms, as I pick her up from preschool, that she wants four fish sticks for dinner.
�Well, I don�t know what Daddy�s put in the oven for you.�
�If there are only three, I�m not eating ANYTHING!�
No skin off my back, kid.

II.
�How many weeks until kindergarten?�
�Three weeks.�
�No, only two.�
�No. This week, next week, and the week after. Three.�
�Two! I�m not counting the middle one.�

III.
�People in the country have a lot of dogs.�
�Yes. But, people in the city have dogs, too.�
�I know. Because there are sidewalks.�

IV.
�Did you know that sugar stays in your body for three hours?�
�You mean, after you eat something with sugar in it?�
�Yes.�
�How do you know this?�
Dusty points to her head and looks at me knowingly.
�Your brain told you?�
She nods and points up.
�Mars? Your brain went to Mars and told you that sugar stays in your body for three hours?�
�Yes.�
�How interesting.�

V.
�I�ve decided I don�t want to be a queen when I grow up.�
�Really? How come?�
�You have to wear hot clothes.�

VI.
After a grumpy evening meal, Red frolicks in the kitchen to Robin Hitchcock (on the CD player, not in real life, sadly.):
�She�s the only thing funny in the house!�

VII.
Dusty is in the back seat of the car making a buzzing sound.
�When I grow up I�m going to have a job making this noise in movies.�
�That�d be cool.�
�Could you really do that?�
�Sure. A lot of people make sound effects for movies.�
�How would I do that? What, is there a school for movies? For making movies?�
�Yes. There are film schools. You could probably major in sound effects.�
Dusty ponders this � the fact that something she�s just made up is true, �Cool.�

****************************************

Finally, we are on Loose Tooth Alert. Her top front teeth are dangerously close to falling out. The tooth fairy is equipped with cash, ready and waiting for the inevitable.

|

9:14 a.m. ::
prev :: next